Rolf Luft Award
The world´s most prestigeous prize within diabetology and endicronology

The Rolf Luft Award is given annually by Rolf Lufts Foundation for Diabetesresearch and Karolinska Institutet for outstanding scientific contributions in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism. The award consists of medal, diploma and prize money. The prize committee includes previous award winners and professors Per-Olof Berggren, Claes-Göran Östenson and Kerstin Brismar at The Rolf Luft Research Center for Diabetes and Endocrinology, the Department och Molecular Medicine and Surgery, Karolinska Institutet.

2024 Rolf Luft Award

During a ceremony in spring 2024, the Rolf Luft Award 2024 will be awarded. Read more about the nomination here



Recipient 2022 Dr Roger D. Cone 

Dr Roger D. Cone, Life Sciences Institute, University of Michigan, USA.    

Prize lecture: The Remarkable Biology of the Melanocortin Peptides


Professor Mitchell Lazar, Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, USA

Prize lecture: Nuclear Receptors, Circadian Rhythms, and Metabolism.


Professor Rudolf Zechner, Institute of Molecular Biosciences, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Austria 
Prize lecture: FAT FISSION - The breakdown of cellular lipid stores in health and disease.


Professor Daniel Drucker, Lunenfeld Tanenbaum Research Institute, Mt. Sinai Hospital, Toronto Canada 
Prize Lecture: Unravelling novel actions of gut peptides-biological mechanisms and therapeutic implications


Professor Michael S. Brown and Professor Joseph L. Goldstein, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, USA
Prize Lecture: Scap: Cholesterol Sensor and Lipid Regulator


Professor Andrew Hattersley, University of Exeter Medical School, Devon, UK 
Prize Lecture: From base change to better care in diabetes


Professor Roger H. Unger, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, USA 
Prize Lecture: A New Biology for Diabetes (Type 1 and 2)


Professor Se-Jin Lee, John Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA 
Prize Lecture: Myostatin: A Molecular Rheostat for Muscle Mass


Professor David John Mangelsdorf, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas 
Prize Lecture: Nuclear Receptor Regulation of Nutrient Metabolism: From Worms to Humans.


Professor Jeffrey Scott Flier, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA 
Prize Lecture: Hormone resistance in diabetes and obesity: insulin, leptin and FGF21.


Professor Lewis C. Cantley, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA 
Prize Lecture: PI 3-Kinase and glucose metabolism


Professor Grahame Hardie, FRSE FMedSci, University of Dundee, UK 
Prize lecture: AMPK: a key sensor of cellular energy status and a potential drug target in obesity, diabetes and cancer.


Dr. Wylie Vale, Helen McLoraine chair professor of molecular neurobiology at the Salk Institute in the USA 
Prize lecture: The CRF/urocortin network of neuropeptides and receptors: bridging stress and metabolism


Professor Sir Philip Cohen, MRC Protein Phosphorylation Unit, University of Dundee, UK 
Prize lecture: From insulin signalling to the regulation of cytokine production by pathogens


Professor Stephen O´Rahilly, Cambridge University, UK 
Prize lecture: Insights into human metabolism from the study of extreme phenotypes


Professor Bruce Spiegelman, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, USA 
Prize lecture: Transcriptional Control of Energy Metabolism


Professor C Ronald Kahn, Joslin Diabetes Center, Boston, USA 
Prize lecture: Insulin Action in "Insulin Insensitive" Tissues - Role in Diabetes


Professor Jeffrey Friedman, Laboratory of Molecular Genetics, the Rockefeller University, New York, USA 
Prize lecture: Leptin, Obesity and the Hormonal Control of Body Weight   

Professor Rolf Luft, 1914-2007
Biographical information



Updated 04/07/2023
Printer friendly page
Rolf Lufts Stiftelse för Diabetesforskning • Rolf Lufts Foundation for Diabetes Research • www.rolfluftdiabetesfond.seinfo@rolfluftdiabetesfond.se • Bankgiro 5799-9559
Provided by Webforum